Lagos Assembly Crisis: Sacked, Suspended Lawmakers Offices Sealed

By Shola Akinyele

The Lagos State House of Assembly has sealed up the offices of four lawmakers, comprising two sacked principal officers and two members who were suspended indefinitely through voice votes at plenary on Monday.

The two lawmakers suspended on Monday were Moshood Oshun (Mainland Constituency II) and Raheem Adewale (Ibeju Lekki Constituency II).

The two principal officers, also sacked same day, are Rotimi Abiru, former Chief Whip and Olumuyiwa Jimoh, former Deputy Majority Leader.

It was learnt that two principal officers that were removed on Monday have also been suspended indefinitely.

A source, who pleaded anonymity, said the principal officers had their offices sealed off because they had been suspended from the plenary.

The source said the 26 lawmakers had signed a letter that was read on the floor of the house by the Clerk in compliance with rule 35 of the house.

The Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, had said the officers were suspended indefinitely for alleged gross misconduct and other infractions that were against the rules guiding the House and its operations.

“It is on this notes that I invoke Orders 68, 71, (4)(a)(b)(11) and (111) of the Rules and Standing Order of the House in respect of gross misconduct and insubordination.

“Their actions can destabilise the House,’’ he said on Monday during Plenary session.

Leave a Reply

wso shell